Earlier this evening, we pointed out that a YouTube user going by the pseudonym "Madflux" had won at least one internet since the debut of his ridiculously awesome "Bike Hero" video yesterday evening. But thanks to an astute commenter, we have recently learned that information was incorrect.
"Madflux," as many of you surmised, does not exist.
According to Creativity Online, it was ad agency Droga5 and a production company named Smuggler who won that internet instead -- and on Activision's behalf. A quick check of Droga5's client list confirms that Guitar Hero World Tour is among those brands the firm services, and the video's credits include a CG artist, a CG supervisor, and an Animation supervisor in addition to several visual effect specialists.
The question is, does it matter? If a company produces a legitimately awesome piece of art in the vein of user generated content, does its less-than-humble origin detract from its value? Are any of you angry or disappointed that there isn't really a part-time McDonalds employee and his friends behind the production -- or perhaps that Droga5 tried to make you think that there were?
Personally, I think the video isn't quite as cool as when it was first shown to me; but perhaps that's because I've now watched it half-a-dozen times.
Thanks to Shawn Butler for the find.








November 20th, 2008 at 2:26 am
The whole thing looked fake (ie not just some fans making a fun home movie) from the beginning.
Doesn't make it any less deserving of my prestigious Two Internets award, though.
November 20th, 2008 at 9:14 am
the bike here has got to be the lamest video I have seen this year. It had zero creativity and now that they have been caught makes it very clear why it lacked tru creativity.
November 20th, 2008 at 10:53 am
How is this not creative? Yes, there are a couple moments where I could tell it wasn't real which led me to believe it was a viral video, but that by no means make it less awesome. Very cool video IMO. Nothing like this has ever been done before.
November 20th, 2008 at 11:18 am
I was wondering about that - still, I wonder how it was done. Blake (at infendo.com) thought that the notes were super-imposed, but I'm still not sure - the notes reacted to lighting changes, imposing that many things in post with that kind of light reaction would be very expensive, and very time consuming. It may actually be easier to just do the stunt.
Good digging guys.
November 20th, 2008 at 1:19 pm
You know it dosen't matter really since it's still not making me like Guitar Hero more than RockBand. But seriously if they pulled this off in real time it's still pretty darn amazing.
and imagine how many people are going to go out now and try to imitate it that aren't an ad agency.
November 20th, 2008 at 3:40 pm
"If a company produces a legitimately awesome piece of art in the vein of user generated content, does its less-than-humble origin detract from its value?"
It's creative, but in the vein of big-budget, CG-enhanced marketing, it's just above average.
The conceit was the idea that anyone with a camera, skill and friends could've done it - something not remotely true. It takes a large budget, CG-effects and professionals.
It was awesome only because we thought there were creative kids doing this in their free time. Now, it's just a good commercial.
How anyone - especially in the games media - fell for this is beyond me.
November 20th, 2008 at 11:38 pm
Viral or not, they put a lot of effort into this to create a brilliant video. I love it.
November 21st, 2008 at 7:33 am
Good job on the video, but who the hell names their company drug 5. Droga translates into drug. Unless they are looking at viral and drug as synonyms.
November 21st, 2008 at 7:22 pm
That video is great... how'd they do it?
December 22nd, 2008 at 9:45 am
I don't think it's the fact that it was made by a company, it was the fact that they lied about what it seemed to be.
I am sure if they showed it as an advert it being a supposed fan film people wouldn't be as pissed.
January 25th, 2009 at 8:07 pm
actually, droga is the last name of the man who founded the agency a few years ago. he is awesome and is from australia. so no they did not name the agency "drug", it's named after the founder. do your homework.